City Government > District 2

Sal Espino (District 2)

Sal Espino (District 2)

Councilmember Sal Espino is serving his sixth term as the City Council District 2 representative, and served as the Fort Worth City Council’s mayor pro tem from 2014 through 2016.

District 2 stretches north from downtown through Panther Island (a new urban waterfront project), the Rose Marine Theatre, the Stockyards National Historic District, Meacham International Airport, and historic neighborhoods in North Side, Far Greater Northside, La Loma, North Beverly Hills and Diamond Hill to communities north of Loop 820 along the Marine Creek corridor and Blue Mound Road to U.S. 287.

Espino and the City Council are committed to responding to citizen concerns on streets, transportation, public safety, code compliance, and quality affordable accessible housing.

Espino has lived in North Fort Worth most of his life. He attended Circle Park Elementary (now Manuel Jara Elementary), J.P. Elder Middle School and the High School for Finance Professions at Polytechnic, where he was valedictorian of his class. He received a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Texas Christian University and graduated magna cum laude. He went on to receive a law degree from Southern Methodist University and currently is a licensed attorney, concentrating his practice in real estate law.

He has received the following awards and honors for his service:

  • Community Champion – AARP
  • Community Hero – Texas Rangers Baseball Foundation
  • Local Hero Award – Bank of America Neighborhood Excellence Initiative
  • Theatre Arts Advocate of the Year – Live Theatre League of Tarrant County
  • Government Advocate of the Year – Fort Worth Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
  • Hispanic Heritage Award – United Hispanic Council
  • Ohtli Award – Government of Mexico
  • Wall of Fame – Fort Worth Independent School District

Espino’s past service history includes:

  • Representative:
    • City of Fort Worth Civil Service Commission
    • City of Fort Worth Building Standards Commission
    • City of Fort Worth Plan Commission.
  • President:
    • North Beverly Hills Neighborhood Association
    • Latin Arts Association of Fort Worth Inc. (now Artes de la Rosa at Rose Marine Theatre)
  • Board member:
    • Imagination Celebration of Fort Worth
    • Texas Boys Choir / Fort Worth Academy of Fine Arts

Espino also is a former member of FWISD Citizens’ Advisory Committee on School Board Member Redistricting and the St. Joseph Health Care Trust Grants Committee for the Catholic Diocese of Fort Worth. He attends All Saints Catholic Church, where he has served on the Parish Council, Parish Center Building Committee and Lector Ministry. He also is past chairman of the Cinco de Mayo Committee and Dieciseis de Septiembre Committee. Espino is a former president of Cassata High School, an educational outreach program of the Catholic Diocese of Fort Worth.

Espino currently serves on the following City Council Committees:

  • Infrastructure and Transportation (chairman)
  • Municipal Courts (chairman)

Espino is president of the Fort Worth Housing Finance Corporation, vice-president of the Fort Worth Sport Authority, a member of the Trinity River Vision Authority (TRVA) Board of Directors, and a director on the Fort Worth Local Development Corporation.

Espino and his wife, Elizabeth, have four children – Salvador Jr., Robert Andres, Alyssa Bianca and Daniel Enrique.

District History

  • Sal Espino: May 7, 2005, to present
  • Jim Lane: May 1, 1993, to May 7, 2005
  • Carlos Puente: May 25, 1991, to May 1, 1993
  • Louis J. Zapata, Sr.: April 19, 1977, to May 25, 1991
  • Joe Bruce Cunningham: April 4, 1973, to April 19, 1977

(First single-member district election occurred on April 19, 1977)

  • Jess M. Johnston, Jr.: April 9, 1969, to April 4, 1973
  • Harris P. Hoover: April 2, 1963, to April 9, 1969
  • George Thompson III: April 4, 1961, to April 2, 1963
  • J. F. Tarlton: April 8, 1953, to April 4, 1961
  • R. B. McKinley: July 28, 1948, to April 8, 1953
  • R. L. Carnrike: July 10, 1940, to July 14, 1948
  • T. J. Harrell: July 23, 1938, to June 19, 1940
  • Jack Carter: July 6, 1938, to July 23, 1938
  • W. J. Hammond: April 2, 1935, to June 22, 1938
  • John B. Davis: Oct. 23, 1929, to April 2, 1935
  • John N. Sparks: April 12, 1927, to Oct. 23, 1929
  • H. C. Meacham: April 7, 1925, to April 12, 1927



Diamond Hill Jarvis - Northside Infrastructure Improvements Project Meeting: 6 p.m. May 1, 2017; Diamond Hill Community Center, 1701 N.E. 36th St.

Twitter Town Hall: 11:30 a.m. May 2, 2017; Participate on Twitter.

Northside Area Infrastructure Improvements Project Meeting: 6 p.m. May 10, 2017; North Tri-Ethnic Community Center, 2950 Roosevelt Ave.

Stormwater Master Plan Meeting: 6 p.m. May 16, 2017; Hazel Harvey Peace Center for Neighborhoods, 818 Missouri Ave, Room 201.

Twitter Town Hall: 11:30 a.m. May 17, 2017; Participate on Twitter.

Street Maintenance Meeting: 6:30 p.m. May 23, 2017; Dozier Elementary School, 6201 Redeagle Creek Drive.

Rolling & Walking Town Hall: 6 p.m. June 21, 2017; To be determined.

Twitter Town Hall: noon Sept. 1, 2017; Participate on Twitter.

Mayor's Spooky Bike Ride: 5:30 p.m. Oct. 26, 2017; To be determined.

Contact Information

District 2 Office
200 Texas St.
Fort Worth, Texas 76102

Telephone: 817-392-8802
Fax: 817-392-6187

District Director:
Pilar Candia