City Government > District 3

W.B. 'Zim' Zimmerman (District 3)

W.B. 'Zim' Zimmerman (District 3)

Zim Zimmerman won the election to represent the residents of Council District 3 on June 13, 2009. He was re-elected to a second term May 14, 2011, and served as mayor pro tem from July 26, 2011, to Sept. 30, 2014.

Zimmerman retired in 1999 as Vice President of Product Support at Lockheed Martin Tactical Aircraft Systems in Fort Worth. His lengthy career in the defense industry spans 34 years with a wealth of experience in marketing; design; testing; manufacturing; product support and program management. During his tenure, Zimmerman was instrumental in the introduction of aircraft in both domestic and foreign markets as well as the establishment of a major manufacturing facility in Turkey. His resume also includes 23 years managing customer support teams in the United States; Europe; the Middle East and the Far East.

In his professional life, Zimmerman has held nominations as a member of the Board of Advisors for the Society of Logistics Engineers and as President of the Lone Star Chapter American Defense Preparedness Association. Because of his background and experience Zimmerman has been invited to speak to the members of countless industry-related organizations including the Air Force Association; the Aerospace Industries Association; the American Defense Preparedness Association; the National Management Association; the Society of Logistics Engineers; the Defense Contract Agency; Certified Professional Managers; and Defense Week Magazine.

Because of his career accomplishments, Zimmerman has been honored with several distinguished awards, including:

  • The Edward M. Greer Award, 1995: The National Security Industrial Association, Logistic Management Committee’s highest individual recognition for managerial innovations in integrated support concepts and for logistics and engineering contributions to industry and the Department of Defense.
  • The Silver Knight of Management Award, 1992: The National Management Association’s highest individual recognition for promoting the recognition of management as a profession and the promotion of the American enterprise system.

A 1964 graduate of Texas A&M University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Aeronautical Engineering, Zimmerman has remained an active supporter of the University’s Forsythe Heritage Foundation, the Twelfth Man Foundation and the Association of Former Students.

In addition to his professional accomplishments, Zimmerman has supported a host of local community causes and is actively involved with major organizations in planning, organizing and implementing annual fundraising campaigns. Some of those organizations include:

  • The March of Dimes Foundation
  • Citizens Crime Commission
  • United Way of Metropolitan Tarrant County
  • National Management Association
  • Aviation Heritage Association
  • North Texas Commission
  • Fort Worth Residential Board of Adjustment
  • Lighthouse for the Blind board vice-chair

During his time at Lockheed Martin, Zimmerman served as executive sponsor or played an important role in the planning and implementation of the company’s fundraising campaigns for the March of Dimes; United Way; the American Heart Association; Big Brothers and Sisters; the Boys Scouts of America; the Arts Council of Fort Worth and Tarrant County; Multiple Sclerosis; U.S. Savings Bonds; Junior Achievement; and the company’s “Con-Trib” campaign, which supports numerous charitable and service organizations.

Zimmerman has lived in the Fort Worth area for more than 45 years and has been a resident of District 3 since 1993. He is married to Mary Alyce. They have two sons, three grandsons and one granddaughter. The Zimmermans are active members of Ridglea Presbyterian Church.

District History

  • W.B. ‘Zim’ Zimmerman: June 13, 2009, to present
  • Chuck Silcox: May 25, 1991, to Oct. 24, 2008
  • William N. Garrison: April 20, 1985, to May 5, 1991
  • Dwaine Johnson: April 7, 1981, to April 20, 1985
  • Clark Martin: Nov. 20, 1979, to April 7, 1981
  • Jim Bradshaw: April 14, 1975, to Nov. 13, 1979

(First single member district election occurred on April 19, 1977)

  • Cliff Overcash: April 4, 1973, to April 14, 1975
  • Taylor Gandy: April 9, 1969, to April 4, 1973
  • R. M. Stovall: April 6, 1963, to April 9, 1969
  • John Justin Jr.: April 2, 1959, to April 16, 1963
  • J. J. Lyles: April 2, 1957, to April 2, 1959
  • F. E. Garrison: April 6, 1955, to April 2, 1957
  • Edd Kane: April 22, 1953, to April 6, 1955
  • R. E. Cowan: Jan. 11, 1949, to April 22, 1953
  • I. N. McCrary: Dec. 7, 1938, to Jan. 1, 1949
  • Ward B. Powell: July 23, 1938, to Dec. 7, 1938
  • Herbert L. Hull: April 7, 1937, to July 23, 1938
  • Dr. W. R. Thompson: June 19, 1928, to April 7, 1937
  • T. B. Hoffer: April 7, 1925, to June 19, 1928



MedStar Citizens Academy: 6 p.m. April 4, 2017; Medstar Training Academy, 2900 Alta Mere Drive.

Hulen Street and Hartwood Drive Sidewalks Project Meeting: 6:30 p.m. April 18, 2017; Arborlawn United Methodist Church, 5001 Briarhaven Rd..

Contact Information

District 3 Office
200 Texas St.
Fort Worth, Texas 76102

Telephone: 817-392-8803
Fax: 817-392-6187

District Director:
Sandi Breaux