Menu Skip to Main Content Library Home Page |  Search the Library Catalog |  My Library Account | LocationsContact Us

Home

 

eSkills Library & Job Center Classes

Classes are held each month at the eSkills Library & Job Center and are conducted by Workforce Solutions, Tarrant County Community College and library staff. Classes are free to the public. Unless otherwise noted, the classes do not require advanced registration.

Basic Keyboarding

Learn how to operate the keyboard, mouse, & monitor. You will learn what fingers to use with what keys, increase your typing speed and learn the in’s and out’s of the keyboard.

  • Thursday, June 2: 2:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, June 16: 2:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, June 30: 2:30 p.m.

Community Council of Greater Dallas Fort Worth

Staff from the Community Council of Greater Dallas Fort Worth will be on hand to help register (qualify) individuals and families for Children’s Medicaid, CHIP and SNAP (food assistance) and TANF (food stamps). For those families not meeting the criteria for these special programs, staff will also help them apply for Affordable Health Care (ACA) and premium tax credits the government’s federal Marketplace. They are also licensed by the Texas Department of Insurance.

  • Monday, June 6: 2 - 6 p.m.
  • Monday, June 13: 2 - 6 p.m.
  • Monday, June 20: 2 - 6 p.m.
  • Monday, June 27: 2 - 6 p.m.

Computer Basics

Basic computer class teaches participants how to operate a computer, how to use Microsoft Word and tests typing skills.

  • Thursday, May 26: 2:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, June 9: 2:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, June 23: 2:30 p.m.

Cyber Seniors

Cyber Seniors is a class specially designed for senior adults who want to learn more about using computers. This class will help senior adults navigate the Internet, create a free email account and use social media.

  • Monday, June 6: noon
  • Monday, June 13: noon
  • Monday, June 20: noon
  • Monday, June 27: noon

GED Classes (taught in English)

Prepare to take the GED. Classes are taught by Tarrant County College District. Registration is required. Please contact the branch at 817-392-6621 for more information or to register. (The GED Information and Orientation classes are required prior to enrollment in GED English or Spanish classes)

  • Wednesday, June 1: 3 p.m.
  • Monday, June 6: 3 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 8: 3 p.m.
  • Monday, June 13: 3 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 15: 3 p.m.
  • Monday, June 20: 3 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 22: 3 p.m.
  • Monday, June 27: 3 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 29: 3 p.m.

GED Classes (taught in Spanish)

Prepare for the high-school equivalency examination (GED) with the help of Tarrant County College District educators. Registration is required. For additional information and to register, call 817 392-6621.

  • Thursday, May 26: 10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, May 31: 10 a.m.
  • Thursday, June 2: 10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 7: 10 a.m.
  • Thursday, June 9: 10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 14: 10 a.m.
  • Thursday, June 16: 10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 21: 10 a.m.
  • Thursday, June 23: 10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, June 28: 10 a.m.
  • Thursday, June 30: 10 a.m.

GED Information and Registration

The GED Information class is required for students interested in registering for the GED class. Students attend this initial information session to register for the GED Class. All GED classes are free to the public.

  • Monday, June 20: 2 p.m.

Introduction to Web Development

Learn the basics of building Web pages. This course introduces the essential elements of design and development, including HTML, style sheets, information architecture and usability.

  • Thursday, May 26: 6 - 8 p.m.

Enrollment and Policy Guidelines

  • Classes are free of charge but space is limited; therefore, prospective students must complete an application and a brief computer-skills assessment. To submit an application and complete the assessment, visit the eSkills Library & Job Center (2800 Stark St., 76112) or the Central Library (500 W. 3rd St., 76102).
  • Each course series meets once per week for six weeks at the eSkills Library & Job Center.
  • Prospective students should be comfortable working in an MS Windows environment and familiar with MS Word, Excel and PowerPoint.

For more information, call 817-392-7733.

Microsoft Power Point

Workshop provides individuals instruction on using Microsoft Power Point.

  • Tuesday, June 7: 2:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 21: 2:30 p.m.

Microsoft Word

Workshop provides individuals instruction on using Microsoft Word.

  • Tuesday, May 31: 2:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 14: 2:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 28: 2:30 p.m.

Computer Classes (taught in Spanish)

Learn and improve your computer skills. In these free classes, you will learn basic computer concepts, how to use email, the fundamentals of Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint and strategies for browsing the Internet.

Basic Functions

This class covers the basic functions such as: creating/deleting folders, saving/deleting files, copying and pasting and explaining the functions of the operating system.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Aug. 24
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, Sept. 12

Computer Basics

The Computer Basics class covers the basic functions of the computer: turning on/off the computer, explain the desktop and icons, opening/closing windows and programs, introducing the keyboard and computer components.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Aug. 3
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, Aug. 15

Email Basics I

The eMail Basics class covers the basic functions of email: creating an email, introducing the email commands and sending an email.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Sept. 7
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, Sept. 26

Email Basics II

The eMail Basics II class covers the basic functions of email:, forwarding, replying and attaching files to an email.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Sept. 14
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, Oct. 3

Freegal Music

The Freegal Music class covers: explaining the Freegal Music Service provided by the Fort Worth Library, searching the catalog and downloading music.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Sept. 28
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, Oct. 17

Internet Basics

The Internet Basic class covers the basic functions of the internet explorer browser: opening, closing, minimizing internet windows, adding tabs, viewing, zooming and learning the names of the different commands and internet functions.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Aug. 31
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, Sept. 19

Keyboarding I

The Keyboarding class covers, the proper key position, basic functions of the keys and the learning the correct typing techniques.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Aug. 10
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, Aug. 22

Keyboarding II

The Keyboarding class covers the different rows of keyboard and improvement of typing skills.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Aug. 17
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, Aug. 29

Microsoft Excel I

The Microsoft Excel class covers the basic functions of the program: entering and editing text and numbers.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, June 1
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, June 6
  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Oct. 26

Microsoft Excel II

The Microsoft Excel class covers the basic functions of the program: adding/deleting columns and rows, and creating a spreadsheet.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, June 8
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, June 13
  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Nov. 2

Microsoft Excel III

The Microsoft Excel class covers the basic functions of the program: inserting formulas, and formatting and charts and graphs.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, June 15
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, June 20
  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Nov. 9

Microsoft Office & Vocabulary

This class covers the basic description of the Microsoft Office Programs and computer vocabulary.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Oct. 5
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, Oct. 24

Microsoft PowerPoint I

The Microsoft PowerPoint class covers: the basic functions of the program: creating a presentation.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, June 22
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, June 27
  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Nov. 16

Microsoft PowerPoint II

The Microsoft PowerPoint class covers: creating and editing slides, inserting clipart, applying designs, running the slide show.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, June 29
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, July 11

Microsoft PowerPoint III

The Microsoft PowerPoint class covers applying designs, running the slide show, saving, printing, and opening presentations.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, July 6
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, July 18

Microsoft Publisher I

The Microsoft Publisher class covers the basic functions of the program: creating a publication, designing a project such as flyer saving and printing the publication.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, July 13
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, July 25

Microsoft Publisher II

The Microsoft Publisher class covers the basic functions of the program: creating a publication, designing a project such as invitation saving and printing the publication.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, July 20
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, Aug. 1

Microsoft Publisher III

The Microsoft Publisher class covers the basic functions of the program: creating a publication, designing a project such as calendar saving and printing the publication.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, July 27
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, Aug. 8

Microsoft Word I

The Microsoft Word class covers the basic functions of the program: creating, editing, saving and printing documents.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Oct. 12
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, Oct. 31

Microsoft Word II

The Microsoft Word class covers the basic functions of the program: cutting/pasting; formatting text appearance; creating numbered and bulleted lists.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Oct. 19
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, Nov. 7

Microsoft Word III

The Microsoft Word class covers the basic functions of the program: using the different templates and creating a Resume.

  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, Nov. 14

Multimedia

The Multimedia class covers: playing and streaming videos online such as youtube, basic functions of Windows Media Player and iTunes.

  • 10 - 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Sept. 21
  • 6 - 7:30 p.m. Monday, Oct. 10

Last updated: May 26, 2016

City of Fort Worth Homepage | Library Homepage | Locations | Web Policies | Contact Us