Home > News

NCTCOG celebrating 50 years of cooperation with regional members

Posted Jan. 15, 2016

Archived Content Information and links provided may no longer be accurate.

On Jan. 20, 1966, local governments established the North Central Texas Council of Governments in response to their common interests and concerns and the need for a joint approach to resolve area-wide problems.

This voluntary, cooperative venture was intended to help local governments improve their capability to serve residents by defining regional issues, problems and opportunities; by setting priorities and devising polices, plans and programs to deal with them; and by achieving efficient and effective action on area-wide matters through communication, coordination and cooperation.

NCTCOG was the first council of governments in Texas, which now has 24.

In 1966, the NCTCOG region consisted of 10 counties — Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise — and eventually grew to include 16 counties.

In addition to 16 counties, there are 169 cities, 22 school districts and 31 special districts among NCTCOG’s 238 member governments.

The values that defined NCTCOG in those early days — communication, cooperation, coordination — still guide its work today as NCTCOG seeks to help member governments meet the needs of residents. And though each city has its unique needs and interests, a cooperative spirit persists to help meet challenges, maximize benefits and reduce adverse effects.

Throughout the year, the agency will look back at significant events that helped North Central Texas grow into one of the most vibrant regions in the country. This year-long look back will be chronicled through a 50th anniversary website, in newsletters, in videos, in photos displayed around the agency and during this year’s General Assembly, which will be held on June 17.

Get articles like this in your inbox weekly. Subscribe to City News

City News


Canceled Council Meeting: 7 p.m. May 31, 2016; Council Chamber, 2nd Floor, City Hall, 1000 Throckmorton St.

Latino American Archives Exhibit: June 1, 2016,–Aug. 31, 2016; Fort Worth Central Library, 500 W. Third St.

Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 12 East Berry Renaissance : 2 p.m. June 1, 2016; Pre-Council Chamber, 2nd Floor, City Hall, 1000 Throckmorton St.
View the agenda »

DFW International Airport Regular Board Meeting: 8:30 a.m. June 2, 2016; Board Room, DFW International Airport Headquarters Building, 2400 Aviation Dr.
View the agenda »

Urban Design Commission Public Hearing: 11 a.m. June 2, 2016; Pre-Council Chamber, 2nd Floor, City Hall, 1000 Throckmorton St.
View the agenda »

Shade Gardening Water-Saving Seminar: 6 p.m. June 2, 2016; Iris Room, Fort Worth Botanic Garden, 3220 Botanic Garden Blvd.
Register for this event »

Fort Worth Library Advisory Board: 6:30 p.m. June 2, 2016; Summerglen Branch Library , 4205 Basswood Blvd.
View the agenda »

Chisholm Trail Park Dedication: 10 a.m. June 4, 2016; Chisholm Trail Park, 4936 McPherson Blvd.

View the full city calendar.