Home > News

City Council appoints new members to Fort Worth Transportation Authority board

Posted Oct. 30, 2019 | Last updated Oct. 31, 2019

Archived Content Information and links provided may no longer be accurate.
Sylvia Alcala, Stephen Baldwin

The City Council appointed eight members to the board of the Fort Worth Transportation Authority, which operates as Trinity Metro.

Mayor Betsy Price and the City Council unanimously approved the resolution, appointing two new members to the 11-member board. Eight of the seats on the board are appointed by the City of Fort Worth.

The two new appointees are Sylvia Alcala — appointed by Councilmember Brian Byrd (District 3) — and Stephen Baldwin — appointed by Councilmember Jungus Jordan (District 6).

Alcala is president and founder of J Anthony Group, a consulting and professional services firm in the aerospace and defense industry. A native Texan and proud small-business owner, Alcala is active in the Fort Worth community, having established the Heroes Race, an annual 5K race that raises money for charitable organizations that “do the work of heroes,” as well as serving on the board of directors of the Fort Worth Hispanic Chamber of Commerce.

“I am delighted to appoint Sylvia Alcala to replace Scott Mahaffey on the Trinity Metro board. During his tenure, Scott brought much to the board. However, it is time we now begin looking to the next generation to steward our city with someone who has been successful in the business world and carries a vision of how to make it better,” Byrd said. “Besides being just a terrific and affable person, Sylvia brings a tremendous amount of leadership skills to the board, as well as a diversity of opinion. She has a keen interest in promoting transit and will add significant value to our city and region.”

Baldwin is a Fort Worth native who retired from Oncor Electric Delivery after a 43-year career. His community involvement includes graduating from United Way’s Blueprint for Board Services Class and Leadership Fort Worth. He currently serves as director of the Stop Six Mobile Food Pantry.

“Stephen is an impressive community leader with a wide-ranging background in volunteerism and community involvement,” Jordan said. “Stephen’s extensive knowledge and understanding of Fort Worth and its residents will lend itself well in moving mobility forward and increasing connectivity and accessibility not only in District 6, but for our entire city and greater region.”

In a continuing effort to ensure appointees represent all geographic sectors of the city, City Councilmembers for districts 2 through 9 each nominate an appointee to the Fort Worth Transportation Authority board. The complete board:

  • Teresa Ayala, District 2.
  • Sylvia Alcala, District 3.
  • Louis “Charles” Edmonds Jr., District 4.
  • Stephen Baldwin, District 6.
  • Nicolo “Nick” Genua, District 7.
  • Ray Taylor, District 8.
  • Jeff Davis, District 9.

The City Council will formally recognize former board members Scott Mahaffey and Jeff King during the Nov. 5 council meeting.

Get articles like this in your inbox. Subscribe to City News.

City News


457 Deferred Compensation Oversite Committee: 9 a.m. May 29, 2020; WebEx.
View the agenda »
Register for this event »

Fort Worth Human Relations Commission: 5:30 p.m. June 1, 2020; WebEx.
View the agenda »
Register for this event »

Housing Neighborhood Services Committee: 2 p.m. June 2, 2020; Virtual.
View the agenda »

City Council Work Session: 3 p.m. June 2, 2020; City Council Conference Room 290, 2nd Floor, City Hall, 200 Texas St.

Canceled Financial Empowerment Workshop Series: 6 p.m. June 2, 2020; Northside Community Center, 1100 N.W. 18th St.
Register for this event »

City Council Meeting: 7 p.m. June 2, 2020; City Council Chambers, 2nd Floor, City Hall, 200 Texas St.

View the full city calendar and current meetings.