Home > Departments > Library


Texas Literary Hall of Fame

Founded by the Friends of the Library in 2004, the Texas Literary Hall of Fame honors authors whose body of work enhances Texas’ literary heritage, is original and first published in this country, and has already been recognized for its literary significance. Held biennially, the Hall of Fame is commemorated by the “Texas Tales™” painting by Marjorie Stark Buckley hanging in the west wing of the Central Library.

2016 Members

H. W. Brands
Jane Pattie
George Sessions Perry
Rick Riordan
Joyce Roach
Dorothy Scarborough
Carmen Tafolla

2014 Members

Laura Bush
Deborah Crombie
Jas. Mardis
Larry Swindell
Jim Wright
Lawrence Wright

2012 Members

Sarah Bird
Carole Nelson Douglas
Robert Flynn
Leon Hale
Stephen Harrigan
Joe Lansdale
Rosalyn Story
Jane Roberts Wood

2010 Members

Judy Alter
Bill Crider
Jeff Guinn
James Ward Lee
Bob Ray Sanders
Carlton Stowers

2008 Members

Sandra Brown
Benjamin Capps
Betsy Colquitt
A.C. Greene
Tom Lea
William Owens
Suzan-Lori Parks
Edwin (Bud) Shrake
Bill Wittliff

2006 Members

Roy Bedichek
J. Mason Brewer
Sandra Cisneros
William Goetzmann
Rolando Hinojosa
William Humphrey
Dan Jenkins
Vassar Miller
Naomi Nye

2004 Members

J. Frank Dobie
Horton Foote
John Graves
Shelby Hearon
Elmer Kelton
Larry McMurtry
Katherine Anne Porter
Walter Prescott Webb

Last updated: Nov. 14, 2016